People of all ages and walks of life enjoyed cooler temperatures and healthy food samples while receiving free health services including screenings during the Community Health Fair Tuesday, October 10, 2017, at the Sutton County Food Pantry. Making... more
The Sonora High School varsity boys placed second in the Cross Country District Meet Wednesday, October 11, 2017, with a total time of 1:38:26, just seconds behind Wall at 1:33:23. In addition to Sonora, five other area high schools including Wall,... more
The Sonora Lions Club hosted its 80th annual auction and dinner Tuesday, October 17, 2017 at the Sutton County Civic Center, to help raise money benefiting people in the local community. In keeping with years past, the annual event aimed at raising... more
The varsity Lady Broncos rallied to beat the Wall Lady Hawks Saturday, October 14, 2017, earning the first-place victory in District 4-3A. Sonora overpowered Wall 23-23, 21-25, 25-19, 25-17, 15-7 to sweep series with the Lady Hawks. The Lady Broncos... more
About 600 people gathered at the Sutton County Park to enjoy a full day of music, food and fun Saturday, October 7, 2017, for the 6th Annual Dry Devil’s River Music Flood. The Flood, hosted by the Sonora Chamber of Commerce featured an early morning... more
As a patron for all creatures great and small, St. Francis of Assisi would have been delighted at the turnout Sunday, October 8, 2017 for the annual “Blessing of the Animals” at St. John’s Episcopal Church in Sonora. With their owners in tow, more... more

Salted Coffee

When I was ranching west of Sanderson in the 1990s, I had a friend and neighbor named Temple Stumberg who ranched farther west in the House Top Mountains in Brewster County. 

Storing the Boat

There isn’t much that makes my husband nervous. Heck, he’s raised four teenagers, which included teaching three of them (so far) to drive. Anyone who can do that can do anything.


The Devil's River News

224 E. Main Street
Sonora, TX 76950
Phone: (325) 387-2507
Fax: (325) 853-3378  

Texas Press Association
West Texas Press Association